It’s A Spoonie Kind of Life

Longer has passed than I would have liked since I took the time to type my thoughts. My health has been in a decline, with flare ups of severe pain and cramps happening every few weeks. I have joined the Fibromyalgia club it seems. After getting a new gynecologist who actually did her job, I got to add Endometriosis and Adenomyosis to the ever growing list of chronic conditions I have. When you add these to the depression, interstitial cystitis, irritable bowel syndrome and osteoarthritis, I have seven medical conditions making my life just a little harder every day. Though it could be worse, I could still have no answers and no idea why I experience so much pain.

These last few months have presented a massive learning curve for me. I have had to adjust how I manage my life on a day to day basis. It is generally three to four weeks between flares however, if I push myself too much it can bring on a flare too. Some days that means just hanging out a load of washing is my limit. Other days I can manage time gardening and playing outside with the kids. The hardest part is waking up not knowing how my day will go. I can be fine in the morning and swiftly decline in the matter of minutes. It is frustrating to say the least.

My medication regime hasn’t changed much. I’m still waiting to see the pain management clinic with my appointment not until December. So for now it is just a wait and see approach to treatment. Though I can guarantee if one of them dares to say to me that I just need to try yoga and mindfulness I will slap them. The amount of doctors who have told me my condition can improve if I just lower my stress levels and stop thinking I’m in pain is straight up insulting. Those of us who experience invisible illnesses are treated quite poorly by some medical professionals. I’ve been told it’s just stress, exhaustion, to be expected after having children, body changes due to aging, and a number of other excuses that are just unprofessional. I have experienced an increasing number of symptoms and pain levels for the last eight years. Eight years to get the answers as to what has been happenings with my body. Now that is the most insulting part of all.

So I promise to try and write more often, when my health allows xx

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.